Veal Salami Update


Just checked and the Veal Salami are already at 40% weight loss! Must be due to the smaller than normal casings.

Good definition, good smell, and taste delicious.

 

This entry was posted in Charcuterie, Halal, Salami, Sausage, Veal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veal Salami Update

  1. Congratulations…looks delicious…let me introduce myself…I am Elliott Shimley and own Lee Farms in Lamar County,GA. ..I raise “Epicuristic milk fed, grass fed, pastured and
    pampered, dry aged veal”…my main customers are white linen restaurants in the Atlanta area…but I have wanted to do “veal charcuterie” for about 3 years now…but everyone around here just does Pork….your product appears to be what I am after…did you use pork fat as part of the ingredient mix?…I thought about using “hard” beef fat to keep it all Veal but didn’t know what that would taste like….did you just use a pork salumi recipe?….thank you for any help and direction you may give me….E. Shimley

    • Hi Elliot,
      I don’t use pork fat at all in anything I make. The Veal Salami, was made with the fat which was on the meat. One thing to avoid is the hard fat, known as suet, from around the kidneys and internal organs, especially for salami as it remains unchanged as the salami dehydrates and shrinks, it has a very dry mouth feel when eaten, whereas the fat from around the muscle remains softer and moister. I want to try my next batch with veal tail fat if I can get some from my local butcher. My latest adventure with veal, is cured veal breast, it makes a very nice non pork alternative to bacon! There was not much to it actually, some premixed cure with smoke powder for a few days, then drying off in the fridge, followed by slicing and eating!

      Most pork salumi recipes can be followed with great success, with no modification other than ensuring that the veal fat is finer chopped or minced, although I think that veal tail fat would probably be ok as it has a different texture from the fat on the rest of the carcass, just follow the recipe on this blog for a start and then you can modify your spicing and textures as you progress and get more of a feel for it.

      Please let me know how you get on!

      Best regards,
      Richard

Leave a Reply

